Weapons and Explosive Hazards Management

previous next

Who we are?

In relation with the mandate of the United Nations Multidimensional Integrated Stabilization Mission in Central Africa (MINUSCA), the United Nations Mine Action Service (UNMAS) is established as the Weapons and Explosive Hazards Management section, operating under the pillar of protection of civilians, headed by the DSRSG/Political.

Why we are here?

The Central African Republic (CAR) is at the center of a region where weapons are subject to illegal traffic, weakening its security and affecting its stability and rule of law. CAR has few specialized facilities[1] for the storage of weapons and ammunition. The few number of armories and ammunition depots whose country was equipped before UNMAS intervention in CAR did not meet minimum international standards and were looted by armed groups during the 2011-2013 events which resulted in unregulated use and misuse of weapons and ammunition, representing a major obstacle to the stabilization of the country.

A large amount of small arms and light weapons (SALW), as well as other explosive hazards, are under the control of armed groups and some are dispersed within the civilian population or abandoned throughout the country. The proliferation of weapons, ammunition and explosive hazards generates significant risks to the Central African population. Acts of armed violence are numerous and the country suffers from high levels of insecurity, but the consequences of this proliferation goes beyond the occurrence of violent incidents. The heavy human cost of the country is coupled with major economic difficulties. Insecurity and fear make trade difficult and sometimes impossible. It is therefore fundamental for the reconstruction of the country that peace and security are restored.

The proliferation of weapons in CAR also limits the State's ability to ensure the security of the population including in border areas, which are strategic for the fight against cross-border crime and illegal trade, including the arms and endangered species trafficking. The presence of multiple armed groups throughout the territory has led to the creation of lawless zone.

Recent developments in the security sector were materialized in CAR with the signing of various framework documents such as the National Strategy for Security Sector Reform (SSR) in March 2017, the National Defense Plan (NDP) in September 2017, as well as the Defense Force Deployment Guidance Document in October 2017 and the Global Plan for Resizing and Redeployment of the Internal Security Forces (ISF) in March 2018. These developments allowed for a coherent and coordinated support with the National Authority and international partners in the field of weapons and ammunition management (WAM).

Currently, the national WAM capacity, including weapons control in CAR is limited and requires to be improved.

The CAR has laws relating to the management of SALW. However, the operational capacity of the national institutions and the scope of the law are currently insufficient to tackle the problems facing the country in this field since the 2013 crisis.

What we do?

In accordance with Security Council Resolution 2448 (2018), UNMAS provides technical assistance and support by:

  • Engaging in the development of WAM capacities, through the construction, rehabilitation and deployment of specialized weapons and ammunition storage infrastructures and in compliance with international standards[2]
  • Developing a national stockpile management capacity for weapons and ammunition management through specialized training;
  • Providing technical support and expertise for the operationalization of the National Commission for the Fight against Small Arms and Light Weapons (NATCOM-SALW); and
  • Support the coordination of the response to threats posed by explosive devices.

In addition, UNMAS extends its capacity building activities to the National Defense Forces in the management of weapons and ammunition through the provision of specialized storage infrastructures as well as trainings for the benefit of the FACA, through the financing of the European Union's External Action Service (EEAS).

Moreover, UNMAS supports Security Council resolution 2454 (2019) renewing the arms embargo and the mandate of the panel of experts in support of the Sanctions Committee. The resolution requests "in this regard the Secretary-General, in close consultation with MINUSCA, UNMAS and the Panel of Experts, to conduct, no later than 31 July 2019, an assessment on the progress achieved on the key benchmarks that will be established pursuant to paragraph 9 and further expresses its intention to review, by 30 September 2019, the arms embargo measures on the Government of the CAR in light of this assessment."

The Road Ahead

The UNMAS programme in CAR supports the operationalization of the NATCOM-SALW, including participation to national initiatives and provision of technical expertise. In addition, UNMAS contributes to the protection of civilians through security activities and destruction of explosive hazards, and finally the strengthening of national capacity in WAM.

UNMAS intends to continue its contribution to MINUSCA’s objectives and priorities and efforts of the entire humanitarian community through the National Plan for Recovery and Consolidation of Peace (RCPCA) in the areas of SSR, the Restoration and Extension of State Authority (RESA), the deployment of the National Defense and Internal Security Forces. In addition, UNMAS wants to continue to participate in the professionalization of FACA and ISF, through a wide range of WAM training and provision of specialized infrastructure; supporting the Central African authorities in strengthening their capacities in the field of WAM and in the preparation of strategic documents.

  1. Protection of Civilians:
    • In the absence of a national authority dedicated to this task, UNMAS aims to support the coordination of activities related to explosive hazards, in order to respond effectively to any threat.
  2. Support to RESA
    • Technical support for the operationalization of the NATCOM-SALW. In particular, assistance in implementing the National Strategy and a National Action Plan for the control and management of SALW, aiming to reduce risks associated with the proliferation of weapons and ammunition;
    • Support the WAM national capacity development promoting safe management of weapons and ammunition;
    • Provision of specialized weapons and ammunition storage infrastructures for the National Defense and Internal Security Forces; and
    • Improve the capacities of the National Defense and Internal Security Forces to better manage weapons and ammunition, offering comprehensive training for Weapon Storekeeper, Ammunition Storekeeper, Ammunition Store Inspector, Ammunition Store Manager, Weapon Cutting Operator, Marking and Record Keeping Operator, Weapons Maintenance, destruction of obsolete ammunition; and
    • Monitor national WAM activities.

3. Support to the arms embargo:

  • Support the Panel of Experts in the application of the arms embargo;
  • Provide technical expertise to the national authority specific to WAM within the context of the arms embargo; and
  • Technical support to the Sanctions Committee, responsible for the implementation of the embargo regime established pursuant to the Security Council decision by resolution 2454 (2019).

To better address the priorities of the national authorities and of MINUSCA, in supporting the RESA, national reconciliation as well as peace and security, UNMAS is seeking additional funds. This will allow UNMAS to support the deployment of the National Defense and Security Forces in terms of specialized weapons and ammunition storage infrastructures and WAM capacity development, the operationalization of the NATCOM-SALW, as well as armed violence reduction activities and raising awareness of violence prevention.

For more information:

UNMAS: http://www.mineaction.org/programmes/centralafricanrepublic

Mine action portfolio website for CAR: http://www.mineaction.org/resources/project-result/983/945-1156-946-1157-1158-1159-1160-947-949-1161-950-1162-948/All/0)

 


[1] The exception of some initial rehabilitations and construction of specialized infrastructure by the United Nations and other international partners.

[2] International Ammunition Technical Guideline, International Small Arms Controls Standard and Modular Small-arms-control Implementation Compendium

Lutte antimines

précédent suivant


Qui sommes-nous ?


En lien avec le mandat de la Mission Multidimensionnelle Intégrée des Nations Unies pour la Stabilisation en Centrafrique (MINUSCA), le service de lutte antimine des Nations Unies (UNMAS), a été établi comme section de la Gestion des armes et des dangers explosifs, œuvrant sous le pilier dirigé par le Représentant Spécial adjoint du Secrétaire Général/Politique.


Pourquoi notre présence ?
La République Centrafricaine (RCA) est au centre d’une région où les armes font l’objet d’un trafic illégal, qui affaiblit sa sécurité et qui impacte sa stabilité et son état de droit. La RCA possède peu d’infrastructures spécialisées[1] pour le stockage des armes et munitions. Le petit nombre d’armureries et de dépôts de munition dont le pays était doté avant l’intervention d’UNMAS en RCA ne répondait pas aux normes minimales de sécurité et a été pillé par les groupes armés lors des événements de 2011-2013. Il s’est ensuivi alors une utilisation non réglementée et abusive des armes et munitions qui représente un obstacle majeur à la stabilisation du pays.
Une grande quantité d’armes légères et de petit calibre (ALPC), ainsi que d’autres engins explosifs, sont sous contrôle des groupes armés et certains sont dispersés au sein de la population civile ou abandonnés à l’intérieur du pays. La prolifération des armes, des munitions et des engins explosifs engendre des risques importants pour la population centrafricaine. Les actes de violence armée sont nombreux et le territoire souffre d’une forte insécurité, mais les conséquences de cette prolifération dépassent la simple survenue d’incidents violents. Le coût humain très lourd de la crise que connaît actuellement le pays se double de difficultés économiques majeures. L’insécurité et la peur rendent les échanges commerciaux difficiles, voire impossibles. Il est donc fondamental pour la reconstruction du pays que la paix et la sécurité soient rétablies.
La prolifération des armes en RCA limite aussi la capacité de l’État à assurer la sécurité de la population ainsi que sa présence dans les zones frontalières, qui revêtent un caractère stratégique pour la lutte contre la criminalité transfrontalière ainsi que le commerce illicite, dont le trafic d’armes et le braconnage d’espèces menacées. La présence de multiples groupes armés dans des territoires a conduit à la création de zones de non-droit.
De récentes avancées dans le secteur de la sécurité se sont concrétisées en RCA avec la signature de différents documents cadres tels que la stratégie nationale de la réforme du secteur de la sécurité (RSS) en mars 2017, le plan de défense nationale (PND) en septembre 2017, ainsi que le document d’orientation sur le déploiement des forces de défense en octobre 2017 et le Plan global de redimensionnement et de redéploiement des Forces de Sécurité Intérieures (FSI) en mars 2018. Ces avancées nous permettent maintenant d’envisager un appui cohérent et coordonné avec l’Autorité Nationale et les partenaires internationaux dans le domaine de la gestion des armes et munitions (GAM). 
Actuellement, les capacités en matière de GAM et de contrôle des armes à feu en RCA sont limitées et demandent à être améliorées. La RCA dispose de lois relatives à la gestion des ALPC. Toutefois, la capacité d’action des institutions et la portée de la loi sont actuellement insuffisantes pour permettre d’endiguer les problèmes que connaît le pays dans ce domaine depuis la crise de 2013.


Nos activités :
En application de la résolution 2448 (2018) du Conseil de Sécurité, UNMAS fournit son assistance technique et soutien en :

  • S’engageant dans le développement des capacités en matière de GAM, à travers la construction, réhabilitation et déploiement d’infrastructures de stockage spécialisés et en conformités avec les normes internationales[2] ;
  • Développant une capacité de gestion des stocks d’armes et de munitions à l’échelle nationale par des formations spécialisées ;
  • Fournissant un soutien et une expertise technique pour l’opérationnalisation de la Commission Nationale pour la lutte contre les Armes Légères et de Petit Calibre (COMNAT-ALPC).
  • Coordonnant de façon efficace la réponse à apporter aux problèmes liés aux engins explosifs ;

 

Par ailleurs, UNMAS étend ses activités de renforcement des capacités des Forces de Défense Nationales dans la gestion des armes et de munitions à travers la provision d’infrastructures spécialisées ainsi que des formations en matière de GAM au profit des FACA, à travers le financement du Service D’action Extérieur de l’Union Européenne (SAEUE/EEAS). 
De plus, UNMAS appuie la résolution du Conseil de Sécurité 2399 (2018) renouvelant l’embargo sur les armes et le mandat du panel des experts en soutien au Comité des Sanctions. La résolution rappelle  « l’engagement des autorités centrafricaines à continuer de renforcer leurs capacité, avec l’appui de la MINUSCA, de l’UNMAS et des autres partenaires internationaux, pour ce qui est de stocker et gérer les armes et munitions qu’elle détiennent , y compris celles qui sont transférées des stocks de la MINUSCA, conformément aux pratiques internationales optimales et aux normes internationales, tout en veillant à ce que les unités des Forces Armées Centrafricaines (FACA) et des FSI qui reçoivent de telles armes et munitions soient pleinement formées et contrôlées. »

 

Domaines d’intervention :


Le programme UNMAS en RCA a soutenu les Autorités Nationales à la création de la COMNAT – ALPC, et participe à diverses activités pour son opérationnalisation. Par ailleurs, UNMAS a mené des actions pour la protection des civils à travers des activités de sécurisation et de destruction d’engins explosifs, en plus, du renforcement des capacités nationales en matière de GAM. 
 

Plans futurs


UNMAS compte poursuivre sa contribution aux objectifs et priorités de la MINUSCA et aux efforts de l’ensemble de la communauté humanitaire à travers le Plan National de Relèvement et de Consolidation de la Paix (RCPCA) dans les domaines de la RSS, la Restauration de l’Autorité de l’État (RESA), le déploiement des Forces Nationales de Défense et de Sécurité Intérieure. Ainsi, UNMAS veux continuer à participer à la professionnalisation des FACA et des FSI, au travers un large éventail de formations en GAM, et en fournissant des infrastructures spécialisées ; appuyant les autorités centrafricaines dans le renforcement de ses capacités en matière de GAM et d’établissement de documents stratégiques. 

  1. Protection des civils :
    • En l’absence d’une autorité nationale dédié à cette tâche, UNMAS vise à coordonner les activités liées aux engins explosifs, afin d’anticiper, écarter et de répondre efficacement à toute menace.
    • UNMAS vise à reprendre des activités d’Education aux Risques des ALPC et engins explosifs en promouvant des comportements sûrs et responsables en lien avec la réduction de la violence armée au sein des communautés. Un accent particulier est mis sur les jeunes qui la plupart du temps sont à la fois acteurs et victimes de cette violence armée. 
  2. Soutien à la RESA
    • Soutien technique à l’opérationnalisation de la COMNAT-ALPC. Notamment, l’assistance dans l’élaboration d’une stratégie nationale et d’un Plan d’Action National pour le contrôle et la gestion des ALPC, qui vise à réduire les risques liés à la prolifération des armes et munitions.
    • Soutien aux autorités nationales en GAM pour une gestion et un stockage sain et efficace des stocks d’armes et de munitions :
    • Construction/réhabilitation de structures spécialisées pour les Forces Nationales de Défense et de Sécurité Intérieure.
    • Amélioration des capacités des Forces Nationales de Défense et de Sécurité Intérieure afin de mieux gérer les armes et munitions, en offrant des formations exhaustives pour Magasinier de Magasin d’Armes (MMA), Magasinier de Magasin de Munitions (MMM) Découpage d’armes, Marquage d’armes, chefs de dépôt et inspecteur armes et munitions.
    • Suivi des personnes formées en GAM.
  3. Soutien à l’embargo :
    • Soutien au panel des experts dans l’application de l’embargo sur les armes.
    • Soutien technique au Comité des sanctions, chargé de la mise en œuvre du régime d’embargo établi en vertu de la décision du Conseil de Sécurité par la résolution 2399 (2018)

En tenant compte des priorités des autorités nationales en matière de RESA, de Réconciliation Nationale (RN) et de soutien à la Paix et à la Sécurité, UNMAS recherche des fonds additionnels afin d’appuyer au mieux le déploiement des Forces Nationales de Défense et de Sécurité Intérieure, afin de continuer le développement des capacités en GAM, le support à l’opérationnalisation de la COMNAT-ALPC, ainsi que de mettre en œuvre des activités de réduction de la violence armée et de sensibilisation.
 
Pour plus d’informations :
MINUSCA https://minusca.unmissions.org/UNMAS
UNMAS http://www.mineaction.org/programmes/centralafricanrepublic
le site mine action portfolio pour la RCA : http://www.mineaction.org/resources/project-result/983/945-1156-946-1157...)